The WEFTA award

The story of WEFTA started back in 1970 when the initiative was taken to bring together (young) scientists from the various fish technology institutes to discuss research activities of common interest. Since then yearly meetings/conferences are organised. After 48 years of annual conferences, the 49th WEFTA conference is taking place in Torshavn!

The WEFTA Award 2019

Every year at the conference dinner, the WEFTA award is presented. An annual award will be given to a WEFTA scientist who has contributed significantly and outstanding to the fields of seafood processing, seafood product development, seafood analytical methods, seafood safety, applied seafood science, seafood technology, seafood nutrition, aquaculture or consumer studies related to seafood.

The WEFTA award will be presented at the conference dinner on Wednesday 16th October 2019 by the chairperson of the Award Committee.


The WEFTA award selection committee 2019 consist of the following previous award

  • Flemming Jessen (2018)
  • Turid Rustad (2017)
  • Francoise Leroi (2016)
  • Heidi Nilsen (2015)
  • Javier Borderias (2012)


Nomination candidates for WEFTA award 2019

Anyone affiliated with a WEFTA member institute may nominate a person for the WEFTA award. The
special nomination form found on the WEFTA homepage must be filled in as instructed. The form shall
include the candidate’s name, title, current affiliation, most significant contributions as listed in the
above qualifications criteria. The nomination form shall include the name of the nominating WEFTA
individual member. Please submit the nomination form not later than the deadline 15th September
2019. Click here for the WEFTA award guide.